Vernon Carus Cricket Club



Founded: 1966
Joined Competition: Joined League 1973
President: George Jones
Play-Cricket Site:


Please click here for up-to-date club officials 



vernonspitchlargeFounded in 1966 as a section of Vernons Mill Sports Club the original aim was to provide cricket for the company workforce.

The club joined the local Evening League and played friendly games on a Sunday. Several of the players played on a Saturday for other clubs. An annual 6 a side tournament was introduced. For over 20 years it attracted clubs both locally and from other areas of the county.

In 1973 at the second attempt the club was elected to the Palace Shield Competition thereby providing cricket to its members on a Saturday. Initially only one team played on a Saturday but two years later a second team was established.

In their second season the club was successful in being promoted to division A but this success was short-lived because the team was soon relegated. This is the only time in the clubs history that any team has been relegated.

In 1978 the 1st team were again promoted and since then they have played continuously in the top division longer than any other team. The next season saw the promotion of the 2nd team. This was the start of an era of continuous success on the field and development of the clubhouse and ground facilities.

During the 1980’s the club developed a reputation for winning cup competitions but in the League we were known as the nearly men. The 1st team were League runners up on four occasions. The breakthrough came in 1991 when both the 1st and 2nd teams were League winners. It was the first time in the League history that a club had won the double.

vernons2It was in 1992 that the club seriously began to implement a junior development policy. Senior players went on coaching courses and contacts were made with schools to attract juniors. Within 5 years the club was running 4 junior teams and the older youngsters were able to play with adults in the newly formed Saturday 3rd and Sunday teams.

Today the club is regarded as the most formidable opponents in the League with 4 Saturday and a Sunday team. The majority of the players are former or current juniors. Juniors are encouraged to progress into adult cricket. The clubs playing record for the past 20 years is the best in the League.

Off the field facilities have continued to be developed. In the future more development will continue when the club for the first time is fully in control of the sports ground.


Trophy Name Awarded For Won in
Palace Shield Premier Division (A) Winner  1991, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014
Palace Cup Premier Division (A) Runner Up 1968, 1980, 1986, 1989, 1997, 1998, 2002, 2008, 2016, 2021
Fylde Cup Division One (B) Winner 1974, 1978, 2013, 2015
Deveney Cup Division One (B) Runner Up 2010, 2014, 2016, 2017
Barcroft Cup Division Two (C) Winner 1968, 1989, 1991, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2002,
William Sharples Cup Division Two (C) Runner Up 1980, 1985, 1986, 1998
Shaw Cup Division Three (D) Winner 1979
Langton Birley Cup Division Three (D) Runner Up 2002, 2017
Charles W Walsh Trophy Division Four (E) Winner 1996, 2000, 2022
Tom Croft Trophy Division Four (E) Winner 1995, 1998, 2001
Bernard Vanner Trophy Division Five Runner Up 2010
Carr Trophy Division Six Winner 2008
Moore & Smalley Trophy Sunday Division (F) Winnersun 1996, 2000
Taylor Trophy Sunday Division (F) Runner Upsun 1998, 2001, 2011
Meyler Cup Winner of Meyler Cup KO 1987, 1995, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2015
Steven Kennedy Cup Runner Up in Meyler Cup KO 1994, 1997, 2010, 2016, 2017
Loxham Cup Winner of Loxham Cup KO 1983, 1986, 1988, 1990, 2004, 2005, 2007
British Aerospace Cup Runner Up in Loxham KO 1979, 1993, 1998, 2008, 2010, 2016
Crabtree Cup Winner of Crabtree Cup 2002, 2004, 2009, 2011, 2014, 2017
John Richardson Cup Runner Up in Crabtree Cup KO 2005, 2007, 2010, 2013
Twenty20 Cup Winner of Twenty20 Cup 2004, 2010, 2011
T20 Runners Up Runners Up in T20 Cup 2005, 2014
  Under 10 Plate Runner Up 2017, 2021
Dutton Forshaw Trophy Under 13s Winner 1998, 2001, 2003
Fred H. Alty Trophy  Under 13s Runner Up  2013
Tom Howarth Trophy Under 13s Plate Winner 2012, 2013
Tom Jenkins Trophy Under 15s Winner 1994, 1998, 2000
Jim Gledhill Trophy Under 15s Runner Up 1995, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2003
Rose Trophy Under 17s Winner 1996, 1998, 2000, 2001
Courtaulds Trophy Under 17 Runners Up 1995, 2002
Bob Millward Trophy Fair Play Winners 2010

Key to notes
sun - The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 - Divison F, 2006-2007 - Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions
jw - Joint Winner


Vernon Carus Cricket Club
Factory Lane

Tel. 01772-744006

3rd/4th Team Ground Adjacent to Main Ground





ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW