South Shore Cricket Club



Founded: 1916
Joined Competition: Joined League 1926
President: S. Grant
Play-Cricket Site:


Please click here for up-to-date club officials 




Taken from 2002 Palace Shield Centenary Booklet

southshore2The South Shore Club came into being about 1916 and played their early cricket on a ground at Harrowside. In 1926, on gaining membership to the Palace Shield Division II, the Club moved to new quarters in Stanley Road.

In 1932 and 1933, South Shore won the Champion¬¨ship of their division and were promoted to the First Division. The 1932 season wos notable for the opening of the Hardy Pavilion, made possible through the generosity of Mr. Walter Hardy, the President. Prominent cricket-ers taking part at this opening included the New Zealand Test players, Dempster and James, and  Ted McDonald, Lancashire and Australia.

The year 1936 saw the club Champions of Division I, after a play-off with Thornton I.C.l., and the following year they were runners-up to Whittingham. In 1938 came the first success in the Meyler Cup, almost repeated the next season, when beaten by Leyland Motors in the final.

The club suffered a serious setback in 1939, all their labours being set at nought when, owing to the war, their ground was taken over with the building of the Aircraft Factory at Squires Gate. Nothing daunted, the Club, after some seasons playing at Stanley Park, ac-quired some land at Mad Nook in 1948, and by determination and enterprise developed a cricket ground on which they were able to play in 1949.

From that time the club became stronger, particularly from the 1960s to the 1980s and the record of ten successes in winning the Palace Shield makes the club the third most successful in the competition. The club is, however, easily top of the list of winners of the Meyler Cup with  eleven successes.


Trophy Name Awarded For Won in
Palace Shield Premier Division (A) Winner 

1936, 1948, 1950, 1952, 1953, 1959, 1968, 1972, 1973, 1979, 1980, 1982, 1983jw, 1984

Palace Cup Premier Division (A) Runner Up 1937, 1949, 1951, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1969, 1981
Fylde Cup Division One (B) Winner 1933, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1959, 1997
Deveney Cup Division One (B) Runner Up 1961
Barcroft Cup Division Two (C) Winner 1969, 1972, 1979, 2008, 2011, 2016
William Sharples Cup Division Two (C) Runner Up 1970, 1971, 1981, 1983, 1993
Shaw Cup Division Three (D) Winner 1978, 2002
Langton Birley Cup Division Three (D) Runner Up 1992, 1998, 2004
Charles W Walsh Trophy Division Four (E) Winner 2018
Michael Dunn Trophy Division Five Winner 2017
Taylor Trophy Sunday Division (F) Runner Upsun  2012, 2016jw
  Sunday Division 2 West Runner Upsun 2017
Meyler Cup Winner of Meyler Cup KO 1938, 1948jw, 1949, 1952, 1954, 1959jw, 1966, 1968, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1985
Steven Kennedy Cup Runner Up in Meyler Cup KO 1939, 1953, 1967, 1980, 1984, 2000
Loxham Cup Winner of Loxham Cup KO 1975, 1978, 1980, 2014
British Aerospace Cup Runner Up in Loxham KO 1991, 2015
Crabtree Cup Winner of Crabtree Cup 2018
John Richardson Cup Runner Up in Crabtree KO 2022
Brian Gill Trophy Under 10s Winner 2007
Highfield Trophy Under 11s Runners Up 2008
Fred H. Alty Trophy Under 13s Runner Up 2010
Jim Gledhill Trophy Under 15s Runner Up 2006
Frank Henry Trophy Under 15 Plate Winner 2010

Key to notes
sun - The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 - Divison F, 2006-2007 - Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions
jw - Joint Winner


South Shore Cricket Club
"Mad Nook"
Common Edge Lane

Tel. 01253-763636



 belhaven brewery


ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW