Gregson Lane Cricket Club



Founded: 1949
Joined Competition: Joined League 1953
President: R. Rigby
Play-Cricket Site:
gregson lane large


Please click here for up-to-date club officials 



2002 Centenary Booklet text used

The club was established in 1948 and had two teams, the firsts playing in the second division of the Chorley & District League and the second team in a small local league known as the "Bannister Hall League".

The first team finished top of the table on several occasions but were refused promotion into the top division as it was then a "closed-shop. Consequently the club applied to join the Palace Shield and were admitted in 1953.The second team took the place of the firsts in the Chorley & District second division until a few years later when they too joined the Palace Shield.

Brief periods of success have been enjoyed with the first team winning the "B" Division for the first time in 1956 and finishing runners-up in 1962, 1964, 1968 and 1990 before winning it again in 1998. The second team have remained firmly rooted in the "D" Division finishing top on one occasion in 1981.

A recurring problem for the club has been the condition of the ground which is council owned and, despite the heroic efforts of a small number of keen members, suffers from continuous vandalism and general mis-use by the public. In addition, the changing rooms, community centre and general facilities on the park have deteriorated due to a severe lack of funding from the council.

In spite of the above problems, the club retains a pleasant friendly atmosphere which typifies village cricket. Indeed, the majority of the present players started at junior level and have played for the club for over 20 years. Unfortunately in recent years the club has struggled to field two senior teams and regularly plays with only nine or ten men. However, an under 11s team was started in 2001 and it is hoped to field under 11s and under 13s in 2002 - an encouraging sign for the future.



Trophy Name Awarded For Won in
Fylde Cup Division One (B) Winner 1952, 1998
Deveney Cup Division One (B) Runner Up 1962, 1964, 1968, 1990
Shaw Cup Division Three (D) Winner 1981, 2010, 2012
  Division Six Runner Up 2011
Taylor Trophy Sunday Division (F) Runner Upsun 2014
  Under 13 Plate Winners 2017
Bob Millward Trophy Fair Play Winners 2002

Key to notes
sun - The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 - Divison F, 2006-2007 - Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions
jw - Joint Winner



Gregson Lane Cricket Club
Gregson Lane

Tel: 07546-438561





ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW