Great Eccleston Cricket Club





Founded: 1876
Joined Competition: Joined League 1906
President: Bruce Maden
Play-Cricket Site:


Please click here for up-to-date club officials 



Taken from the 2002 League Booklet

For many years the Club was believed to have been founded in 1876 by Squire Ffrance of Rawcliffe Hall. However, the research for this piece has turned up a most interesting point. A contemporary of Squire Ffrance, fellow founder member and later President of the Club, was one Robert Parkinson Esq. In a press interview in the l930s he confirmed that the Club played for 53 years at its original ground, nearby at Copp Lane, before moving to the current ground for the 1924 season.Great Eccleston

The move to the current ground in 1924 can be confirmed, as a menu from the celebratory dinner at the Don Café in Blackpool is held in the Club records. This places our formation in 1870, rather than 1876; a fact which is backed up by entries in scorebooks from different periods.

One of the early Presidents was Lord Ashton of Ryelands, who, according to one Evening Gazette article, was to become the "fairy Godfather of St Annes" shortly afterwards. Sounds like a good move to me!

Other points to note are that umpiring costs for the 1912 season amounted to £1.9s.3d (£1.48), rose to £38.17s.2d (£38.87) in 1968 and, as a reflection of the increasing costs, stand at figure of £569 for the 2001 season.

Right through the 1910s, 20s, 30s, 40s and into the 1950s, one of Great Eccleston’s, and the leagues, greatest bowlers plied his trade. In the 1938 season Arthur Hutchinson took exactly 100 wickets with the following remarkable figures, which are still a B Division record:

                            Overs Maidens Runs Wickets Average
Season 1938     314        79        696       100        6.9


A presentation was made by the President, Robert Parkinson, to mark the achievement of 100 wickets in 1938. In his speech, Mr Parkinson recalled making a similar award to Arthur’s father, Mr Richard Hutchinson, many years before. Measures are now being taken to trace all Hutchinsons still living in the area to harness this inherited talent!

Incidentally, Arthur Hutchinson continued to play for many years and took 80 wickets in 1948 at an average of 7.41. His strike rate throughout his 43 year career, mostly playing in the First Division, suggests that he must have taken well in excess of 2500 wickets

Right through the first half of Great Eccleston’s history, the team rarely performed to potential. Against Fulwood & Broughton on 21st May 1955, Great Eccleston were bowled out for 4, with 9 batsmen not getting off the mark. Great Eccleston’s claims of a doctored pitch fell on deaf ears when it was realised that they were actually at home that day! This stunning collapse was after Fulwood had been dismissed for 39.

Revenge was sweet later that season for the return fixture away from home. Great Eccleston 217 for 6; Fulwood & Broughton 92 all out. By the way, it is Fulwood & Broughton who save Great Eccleston the shame of appearing in the league handbook as the lowest scorers. An all out 3 in 1941 surpasses anything we could ever manage!

The late 1950s saw great strides forward in the facilities at the club. A dressing room for visitors was built (how did that get past the committee?) and the miracle of running water was installed.

Progress was also being made on the playing side. The team became B Division champions in 1957 (the Club’s first ever honours), with Gerry Swarbrick taking all ten wickets that season against South Shore, and retained the title the following year.

Both teams have enjoyed the odd successful period since those days. The most recent examples are promotion to A and C divisions respectively for the lst and 2nd XIs, winning the area rounds of the National Village Knockout Competition to reach the last 32 in the countrywide stages, and Andy Gillibrand topping the A Division bowling averages in 2001.

The Club’s development over the years has been achieved through a loyal and committed membership, which remains the case today. We have also been well served by the longevity of our officers, the current crop being no exception. The Clubhouse, built in 1976 and opened by Jimmy Armfield (himself a former member), and the changing rooms, built in 1984, both saw an enormous amount of member involvement in their construction.

Our junior section is flourishing, we run a further team in the F division and the social side of the Club would take an awful lot of beating. Even our motor roller is in its 28th year of active service, whilst the larger hand roller has been with us at least 70 years!

The clubs retains its own special identity and character and remains committed to a league it has been a part of for so long.


Trophy Name Awarded For Won in
Palace Shield Premier Division (A) Winner  2006, 2008, 2015
Palace Cup Premier Division (A) Runner Up 2007, 2011
Fylde Cup Division One (B) Winner 1953, 1954, 1968, 2000
Deveney Cup Division One (B) Runner Up 1981, 2008, 2012
Barcroft Cup Division Two (C) Winner 2019
William Sharples Cup Division Two (C) Runner Up 2007
Shaw Cup Division Three (D) Winner 1986, 1999, 2017
Langton Birley Cup Division Three (D) Runner Up 1969, 1973, 1981
Tom Croft Trophy Division Four (E) Runner Up 2008
Bernard Vanner Trophy Division Five Runner Up 2006
Taylor Trophy Sunday Division (F) Runner Upsun 2008
  Sunday Division 2 West Winnerssun 2017
Meyler Cup Winner of Meyler Cup KO 2006, 2008, 2014
Steven Kennedy Cup Runner Up in Meyler Cup KO 1974, 2007, 2012
Loxham Cup Winner of Loxham Cup KO 2008
British Aerospace Cup Runner Up in Loxham KO 2017
Twenty20 Cup Winner of Twenty20 Cup 2007, 2008, 2015, 2016, 2017
T20 Runners Up Runners Up in T20 Cup 2006, 2011
Brian Gill Trophy Under 10s Winner 2017, 2019
  Under 12s Winner 2019
  Under 13s Winner 2021
Under 14s Runner Up Under 14s Runner Up 2016
Peter Metcalfe MBE Trophy Ground of the Year 2021

Key to notes
sun - The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 - Divison F, 2006-2007 - Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions
jw - Joint Winner


Great Eccleston Cricket Club
Hall Lane
Great Eccleston
Nr Preston

Tel. 07722-506127


Whittingham & Goosnargh Cricket Club (3XI)
Guild Park (Whittingham Hospital)






ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW