Freckleton Cricket Club



Founded: 1930
Joined Competition: Joined League 1962
President: V. Rigby
Play-Cricket Site:


Chairman G. Fiddler
Secretary J.J. Goodin
  Tel: 01772-510122 Mob: 07415-668975
Treasurer J.J. Goodin
  As Above
League Reps A. Watkinson, J. Goodin and T.L. Morris
Child Welfare Officer Mark Rigby


Taken from 2002 Centenary Booklet

Freckleton CC

The present cricket club was formed in 1930, with a number of young men, namely, Marsden Rigby, George Lonsdale, Will Coulton, Tom Burch, and some older men, Taylor Woods and Tom Parker. It is reported that cricket was played on Freckleton Marsh before 1900, but no records are available.

The home to the present club was where the Memorial Park is now, as this was set out as a memorial to the victims of the air crash on the school in 1944 when many children and adults lost their lives. Freckleton was without a ground after the war and the club could only play friendlies away from home. In 1956 a new ground was opened on Bush Lane and, as the club became stronger, they joined the Palace Shield in 1962.

The playing strength revolved round the bowling exploits of the Rigby brothers, who regularly won bowling awards but, despite winning the Third Division in the first season and twice more in 1966 and 1967,  and twice being runners-up, ambitions for promotion were frustrated by the system of election until 1969 when the Competition was re-organised. The team moved into Division B and a second team entered the league in Division D.



Trophy Name Awarded For Won in
Fylde Cup Division One (B) Winner 1977, 1992, 1999
Deveney Cup Division One (B) Runner Up 1972, 1995
Barcroft Cup Division Two (C) Winner 1962, 1966, 1967
William Sharples Cup Division Two (C) Runner Up 1965, 1968,
Shaw Cup Division Three (D) Winner 1998, 2001
Langton Birley Cup Division Three (D) Runner Up 2001
Charles W Walsh Trophy Division Four (E) Winner 2009, 2013
Taylor Trophy Sunday Division (F) Runner Upsun 2009
Meyler Cup Winner of Meyler Cup KO 2002, 2012, 2013
Steven Kennedy Cup Runner Up in Meyler Cup KO 2004, 2011
T20 Runners Up Runners Up in T20 Cup 2007, 2009, 2013
Twenty20 Division2 Winner Winner of T20 Division 2 Cup 2015
Colin Dawber Trophy Under 13 Plate Runner Up 2010
Tom Jenkins Trophy Under 15s Winner 1997, 2001
Courtaulds Trophy Under 17 Runners Up 1996, 1999

Key to notes
sun - The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 - Divison F, 2006-2007 - Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions
jw - Joint Winner



Freckleton Cricket Club
Bush Lane

Tel. 01772 679139

ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW