Darwen Cricket Club



Founded: 1901
Joined Competition: Joined League 2010
President: Geoff Thompson
Website: http://www.darwencricket.co.uk
Play-Cricket Site: http://darwen.play-cricket.com


Please click here for up-to-date club officials 



A previous Darwen club had brief spells in the Central Lancashire League and Ribblesdale League before disbanding. Re-founded as Darwen Etrurians CC in 1901, the club re-joined the Ribblesdale League in 1909 changing their title to Darwen CC at the 1910 AGM. They were league champions in 1922, 1934 and 1940 (joint).

After playing at Barley Bank, the former home of Darwen FC in their Football League days the club moved to their present ground in 1920 and became founder members of the Northern League in 1952.

Darwen CC have been Northern League champions five times, in 1966, 1987, 1999, 2002 and 2003 and were division two champions in 1959 and 1966.

Notable former professionals include Ken Rickards, Tom Dewdney, Bob Entwistle, Ken Snellgrove, Keith Semple, Atif Ashraf and Mohammad Zaman Khan.



Trophy Name Awarded For Won in
Michael Dunn Trophy Division Five Winner 2021
  Division 6 South Winner 2017
Taylor Trophy Sunday Division (F) Runner Upsun 2010

Key to notes
sun - The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 - Divison F, 2006-2007 - Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions
jw - Joint Winner


Darwen Cricket Club
“Birch Hall"
Mostyn Street

Tel. 01254 701795







ECB Club Support

The ECB have set up a resource base to support clubs as they look to develop a gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face.


ECB263 Club Support Banner ad 468x60 AW